Published On: Mon, Feb 15th, 2016
Published in Category: Islamabad

Election for Islamabad mayor, deputy mayors today

Share This

ISLAMABAD: The first ever mayor of the Islamabad will be elected today (Monday).

Islamabad Metropolitan Corporation has 50 elected union council chairmen and 27 members on reserved seats.

The PML-N which is far ahead of its competitors with 32 union council chairmen, is expected to sweep the election of mayor.

It is followed by PTI’s eighteen union council chairmen.

The PML-N has fielded Sheikh Ansar Aziz as its candidate for the office of mayor against PTI’s Raja Khurram Nawaz.

Three deputy mayors of Islamabad will also be elected tomorrow.

PML-N’s nominees are Chaudhry Riffat Javed, Syed Zeeshan Ali Naqvi and Mohammad Azam Khan.

The PTI has nominated Fouzia Arshad, Raja Zulqarnain and Ali Nawaz Awan for the deputy mayoral slots.}