Published On: Tue, Dec 18th, 2018
Published in Category: Islamabad

PEMRA changes process of issuing license to TV channels

Share This

Islamabad: Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (PEMRA) has approved licensing of new satellite TV channels through open bidding process.

The process of issuing satellite TV Channel licenses was halted by orders of Lahore High Court whereby it was directed that the matter may be re-advertised after regular Chairman PEMRA is in place. The Authority also determined number of licenses to be issued and their genre in light of Court Orders. Authority also approved amendments in PEMRA Television Broadcast Station Operations 2012 and in Regulations regarding Security Clearance of Directors/Licensees of Satellite TV channels.

PEMRA approved grant of two Non-Commercial FM Radio Licenses to Punjab Food Authority (PFA), Lahore and Beaconhouse National University (BNU), Lahore. The request of Virtual University for the renewal of Non-Commercial Satellite TV Licenses, VTV-I and VTV-II in Specialized Subject Category was also approved subject to revised fee. Two Landing Right Permissions were approved for Mediacom Network (Pvt. ) Ltd, Karachi for Foreign TV Channels “English Club TV” and “Kidzone TV”, and Landing Rights Permission for Channel “TOONAMI” was cancelled on their own request.

Likewise, approval was granted for one Mobile TV (Video & Audio Content Provision) Services License to Ideation (Pvt. ) Ltd. Islamabad, and two Internet Protocol TV Distribution Service Licenses for . TES Media (Pvt. ) Ltd, Islamabad for Karachi, Lahore and Islamabad Telecom Zones and Nayatel (Pvt. ) Ltd, for Islamabad, Rawalpindi, Peshawar and Faisalabad Telecom Zones. Beside these agendas, Authority reviewed the status of DTH licensing and took appropriate decision as per law.

The Authority members welcomed Secretary Information and Broadcasting as an Authority member in pursuance of amendment of the Ordinance as representative of Federal Government. The 146thAuthority meeting was presided by Chairman PEMRA Mohammad Saleem Baig whereas, Shafqat Jalil, Secretary Information and Broadcasting and other members including Nargis Nasir, Member Punjab, Shaheen Habibullah, Member KP, Sarfaraz Khan Jatoi Member Sindh, Mohammad Naveed, Chairman PTA, and Ashfaq Jumani. Executive Member PEMRA were also present in the meeting.

buy cialis 100mg online