Published On: Sun, Mar 30th, 2014
Published in Category: Nowshera

PLF-ILF panel win district bar elections

Share This

NOWSHERA: The joint panel of Peoples Lawyers Forum (PLF) and Insaf Lawyers Forum (ILF) has won the district bar elections held here Saturday.

Ijaz Khan Advocate of PLF and Haji Muhammad Riaz Khan were elected President and General Secretary of the bar respectively.

Ijaz Khan secured 156 votes as against his rival Asmat Ali Shah Gilani of National Lawyers Forum (NLF) who secured 72 votes. Muhammad Riaz of ILF with 84 votes was elected general secretary of the bar while Tariq Mehmud of NLF with 62 votes stood runner up.

Muhammad Ayub Khattak of ILF with 126 votes was elected vice president of the bar while his opponent Zamir Khan of NLF secured 67 votes.

Ashrafuddin of MLF with 123 votes was elected Joint Secretary of the bar while his close opponent Abdullah Shah of ILF obtained 103 votes.

Shujaul Haq of ILF was elected Finance Secretary of the Bar with 123 votes while Kamil Rahim of MLF secured 98 votes for the same office.

The elections were held under the supervision of Election Commissioner Mian Ajmal Shah, and members Muhammad Sharif and Zakirullah Khan.

The polling started at 09 a.m. continued without any break till 2 p.m. wherein 255 lawyers exercise their right of franchise.