Published On: Thu, May 16th, 2019
Published in Category: Lahore

PML-N submits resolution in Punjab Assembly demanding formation of Bahawalpur province

Share This

LAHORE: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) on Wednesday has tabled a resolution in Punjab Assembly demanding to form Bahawalpur province.

The resolution submitted by PML-N’s Hina Pervez Butt stated that if government is serious about forming South Punjab province then it should also accept Bahawalpur province.

The resolution also stated that the new provinces will help in distribution of resources and authorities at equal level. It’s now duty of the incumbent government to fulfill its promise of making new provinces as it has come into power, it added.

On January 28, PML-N had submitted constitutional amendment bill in the National Assembly for the creation of a South Punjab province and the restoration of the Bahawalpur province in Punjab.

PML-N leaders Ahsan Iqbal, Rana Tanveer, Rana Sanaullah Khan and Abdur Rehman Kanju tendered the bill to NA secretary bearing their signatures.

The bill maintained that Bahawalpur province will be based on present administrative division whereas South Punjab will be comprised of Dera Ghazi Khan and Multan divisions.

The total number of NA seats in Bahawalpur province will be 39 including 31 general, seven for females and one for non-Muslim.

The bill demanded to form National Commission for New Provinces to determine the precincts and other matters.