Published On: Fri, Feb 26th, 2021
Published in Category: Lahore

Senate election: All 11 candidates from Punjab elected unopposed

Share This

LAHORE: The Election Commission of Pakistan (Punjab Office) on Thursday announced that all 11 candidates for the Senate election from Punjab have been elected unopposed.

All candidates on the technocrat, women and general seats from Punjab have been elected unopposed, said the election commission.

The candidates were elected after all challengers withdrew their nomination papers. Thursday was the last day for the withdrawal of nomination papers.

The names of the candidates who have been elected from Punjab are:

Chaudhry Azam Nazir Tarar (PML-N), Syed Ali Zafar (PTI) on technocrat seats. Dr. Zarqa (PTI) and Barrister Saadia Abbasi (PML-N) on women seats. Professor Allama Sajid Mir (PML-N), Irfanul Haq Siddiqui (PML-N), Ijaz Ahmed Chaudhry (PTI), Aun Abbas Bappi (PTI), Kamil Ali Agha (PML-Q), Saifullah Sarwar Khan Niazi (PTI) and Dr. Afnanullah Khan (PML-N) on general seats.

According to the break-up, five Senators each from the PML-N and the PTI have been elected while one, Kamil Ali Agha, has been elected unopposed from the PML-Q’s platform.

The election commission said that an official notification of the candidates who got elected will be issued today (Friday).

Federal Minister for Human Rights Dr. Shireen M. Mazari took to Twitter to congratulate candidates from the PTI who got elected unopposed. “Congratulations to our new Senators from Punjab,” she tweeted.